Waking Sleep

Last night I woke up in a dream,

I saw myself from someone else’s eyes,

Shocked and scared yet I could not scream.

My eyes were dead but my body was alive,

How strange to see my own body do the unimaginable; be free.

Awake I ask my self; why?

Awake in my dream, my body, through its actions was asking; why not?

As I watched helpless, my body leaped off the cliff..

But did not fall, instead I awoke.

Bewildered, I asked myself “was it all just some sick joke?”

The best thing was that I was neither asleep nor awake but in that moment, I was more alive than I had ever been.

4 comments on “Waking Sleep

  1. Anonymous says:

    This is amazing. Don’t ever put yourself down silly -_-

  2. Beuatiful poem. My eyes were dead but my body was alive,- amazing, 🙂 loved it

  3. Anonymous says:

    This reminds me of the line in Mad World, “The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I’ve ever had.”

Leave a Reply

