Dessert or Disaster?

I’m angry. I’m really angry. I’m angry because every time I listen or read the news, it’s always about death and destruction. I’m angry that man is killing man in every way possible. I’m angry that those with the power to change sit idly by and pursue self preservation as opposed to global progression. However, what I’m angriest about is my excessive apathy towards all of this. My ability to continue because; as long as I’m alive and there’s financial stability and superficial gratification in my life, to hell with the rest of the world. I cannot even bring myself to mourn the daily loss of life in the community because I’m too pleased with the fact that the latest episode of a TV show has released or that I’m able to consume gross amounts of food. I have no real concern, barring the societal demands, for those who have no food or drink or sanitary conditions to live in because; if I’m spending money and donating some to charity, I’m clearly helping both poverty and the economy. I’m angry about the fact that, despite access to an endless wealth of information, I am a part of an ignorant electorate. In fact, I am a part of the voting age that does not exercise their right to vote because I conveniently believe that no real change is going to happen so ‘why bother?’ I can’t tell you why to bother, that would be hypocritical. But I will leave you with the words of Martin Niemoller and hope they impact you or at least, make you think and consider what you want your future to look like.

First they came for the communists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.
Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me.

So re frame the above into today’s context and you decide what you want;

Dessert or Disaster?

 

Leave a Reply

