The Phoenix

They asked for silence, I yelled.

They asked for discipline, I rebelled.

They asked for peace, I gave them a revolution.

They asked for acceptance; I offered an alternate solution.

 

They imposed fences to cage me in; I raised my arms higher,

They imposed penalties, I set them on fire.

They imposed sanctions, I persisted but did not tire.

 

They demanded ignorance, I commanded knowledge.

They asked, They imposed, They demanded,

They taxed, They imposed, They reprimanded.

 

But they did not succeed.

They can do what they want but I will not concede.

 

I won’t flinch even under the strain of their lashes,

I will wear with pride my many gashes,

I will rise like a phoenix from the ashes.

2 comments on “The Phoenix

  1. Arnab says:

    Highly spirited!

Leave a Reply

