Writing while being ‘happy’

Looking over my dashboard and noticing the dates on which I’ve posted stuff, I’ve begun to notice a trend. On days that I am angry or upset or in emotional turmoil, I write a piece. On days I am apathetic or facing dilemmas or wanting to unleash a torrent of abuse towards current affairs, I write a piece. However, on days I am happy or preoccupied, I neglect to color in the dark and instead bask in the glory of a ‘good day.’

I suppose the simple reason for not writing while being happy is because; when we are happy, we don’t question it. When we are unhappy; however, we feel compelled to document our distress and seek therapy amidst a group of individual on-line peers all in similar situations.

Happiness seems to be more fleeting than sadness, therefore, rather than documenting happiness, we seek to take complete advantage of it and enjoy it to the fullest. Moreover, it seems harder to describe happiness as eloquently as sadness. Also, when we write about happiness the response is ironically more negative than when we are writing about a dismal state of affairs. Comments received often include phrases such as ‘why do I care about this?’ and while you could argue that, your posts are at your discretion, you, dear blogger, have angered the masses and will see a downfall in your coveted stats page. Whereas, writing a deep, dark and meaningful piece earns you accolades and appreciation.

Writing while happy is a technique many authors fail to master as general events of happiness lack the profundity that misery and sadness bring about. So, I suppose all I’m trying to say is; I’m not always a miserable, heartbroken emotionally deranged blogger; I just don’t really know how to or when to write about happiness.

3 comments on “Writing while being ‘happy’

  1. DG says:

    This is good, I like this 🙂

  2. GeetS says:

    keep smiling 🙂

  3. Harish says:

    Hm.. Never checked this one. But for me blogging was always a great stress buster.

Leave a Reply

