Inspiration or perseverance?

After my last post, I took some time out to go out and try new things, be it late night drives or pulling up on the rim of basketball hoops. I even managed to complete a Sunday crossword alongside forming multiple conspiracy theories; however, when I sat down, logged in and clicked on “New Post” I realised that, rather than being lost for words, I was devoid of inspiration and it was with a sense of lethargy that I wrote a few drafts that ended up being acquainted with the “move to trash” option.

The problem, I eventually worked out, was that there was so much to write about and I was trying to cram everything into a single post. A post that was devoid of any navigation and infrastructure. Frustrated, I decided to have a verbal rant about it to a friend who in return told me; “Be like a postage stamp, stick to one thing until you get there’ and I suppose that’s the best way to phrase it. Rather than filling inspiration, it is perseverance that counts.

It is by perseverance the snail reached the ark and the tortoise beat the rabbit. It is their perseverance that should inspire us to persevere and overcome whatever the barrier we face.

Success is the child of drudgery and perseverance. It cannot be coaxed through false inspiration or bribed; pay the price through honest hard work and it is yours.

2 comments on “Inspiration or perseverance?

  1. ewruiwryetuioerhgkjdf says:

    CROSSWORDS FTW! ._.

  2. happens all the time with me too 🙂

Leave a Reply

