The cup-undrum

It has always interested me to hear people alternate between “the cup is half full” and “the cup is half empty.” Apparently, the answer given is indicative as to whether the person in question is an optimist or a pessimist.

However today, I heard an answer that would have made Edward De Bono (lateral thinking) proud.

“I’m just happy I have a cup.”

Too often we worry about the quantity of items as opposed to appreciating the fact that we have something. That answer made me realize it’s time to reassess my values. Maybe it’s your turn?

2 comments on “The cup-undrum

  1. Saru Singhal says:

    Great perspective!

  2. Fatima says:

    inserts song: *open your eyes* 🙂
    I like this idea a lot!

Leave a Reply

