Blood on the Bay.

Marina bay glinted like a diamond as the golden sun descended over the unusually quiet streets of Singapore. The skies were starting to gather a hint of menace however the clocks ticked on. The darkening streets were brightened by the million dollar machines that were spread in an orderly fashion across marina bay. The smell of destruction ran rife. A trickle of perspiration oozed down his face. Singapore looked set for a killer finish and a killer finish it would get…

With excruciating slowness I opened my eyes. Chaos! It enveloped me as the ground shuddered dangerously. Explosive sounds were drowned out by the outrageous thumping of my heart. The view in front of me was the equivalent of a cinema screen projecting a horrific movie. Bodies everywhere. Children running amok. Yet while bedlam encased the streets, a metal tint stole over the Singapore as silent as the night itself…

Snapping back to attention my sight refocused ahead of me as I braced myself for the carnage that would ensue. We were informed about a 9:00pm start and at 2 minutes to the hour noises unlike any other blared and rippled through my body. My knuckles tightened. Screams erupted. I put my foot down and my body shook. Staring at a set of changing colors in front of me, every muscle in my body tensed. A buzz filled the air. Stones rattled. Smoke met sky and the screaming began…

Excitement and Fear bolted through me. They charged as fast a group of enraged bulls and I set off in pursuit, yet still the screams chased me. Unnerving. I saw the color red move behind me as, on my left a grayish color shifted closer to the red one. However, just like an abstract painting when the color is thrown at the color grey the result is horrifying, yet beautiful. Just like that, the man covered in red beside me was thrown, by a bump on the road, against the grey metal beside me and the resultant color was beyond horrifying. It was deathly…

The shock that rushed through me did little to stem the flow of adrenaline as my velocity increased to a new level. The harsh surface was beginning to take a toll on my rubber soles as perspiration glistened on my skin. Fumes and carbon continuously rushed past me as the screams resurfaced. Frustration and exhaustion descended over me as for the first time I felt drained. Literally needing a pit-stop the only refill I found was where the screams were the loudest. Scenes, the ugliest. The irony amused me. Where there is madness I found something to restore my sanity. The break of nine seconds quenched my thirst and with a new found energy I plotted the rest of my course. My course to freedom…

The sounds ricocheted of the metal that they called Marina bay as once again I found myself in the midst of what could be deemed a pack of ravenous wolves. Leading the pack was not the chosen alpha but a golden streaked mongrel and slotting into second was I, the dark skinned one. With ferocity equaling that of the roman gladiator I pounced…

The streets kept repeating themselves as, once again I embraced hope. Leading the path to freedom would serve to be better than the prize itself. The clocks raced on. Tick tock. Eyes followed me. Carnage continued. I hit a bump on the road and sparks ignited behind me. Tick tock. My speed dipped. A curve on the road was fast approaching. Tick tock. My speed was too high yet too low. I could not stop. The end to this madness was beyond this one last bend. Screams erupted in my ear. Confusion ensnared my senses. The street lights blinded me. I throw up my hands in despair. The steel boundary came nearer as with a final thought I remembered the phrase; ‘victory or death’ they said. The latter stuck in my head. I closed my eyes…

Tick – impact – tock. Death…

Marina bay glinted like a diamond as the silver moon ascended over the unusually quiet streets of Singapore. The skies were menacing however the clocks ticked on. The darkened streets were brightened by the million dollar machines that were spread in a disorderly fashion across marina bay. The smell of destruction ran rife. A trickle of blood oozed down his face. Singapore looked set for a killer finish and a killer finish it would get…

The date was August the 3rd, 2008 and formula one had just finished its debut in Singapore 

2 comments on “Blood on the Bay.

  1. Ace says:

    You have a gift with words.

Leave a Reply

