A tribute to the past.

They said to enter a contest,

To see who is the best.

But one look at you and I thought,

I’ll leave the prize for the rest. .

One look into your dark brown eyes,

Your hand in mine during those starry nighs,

Your kiss better than a stanza describing love,

Your silky hair better than a haiku about a dove.

Your beauty more radiant than a sonnet from above.

Being close to you makes my heart beat faster than a limerick’s pace,

Not even an Asian ghazal can compete with the beauty upon your face.

Even an Elegy finds solace in your heart,

Like I did from the very start.

Forgive me dear reader,

But now we must part,

For the rest is best

Left in my memory,

Where she lies,

In disguise,

My reverie.

Leave a Reply

